Interview: He makes millions swoon but can’t find a wife..

Our gratitude to the original source & highlight of the update, article posted at LBH-soompi / EverythingLBH.com. Do join us at the website for more Lee Byung Hun compiled updates & continuous fan-sharing.
user posted image

An extended update & compilation here. Our gratitude to xesre8 at LBH-soompi.com for the wonderful sharing of the article scans.

June 12, 2011

Korean hunk Lee Byung Hun pines for marriage
By: Charlene Chua TNP PHOTOS: Kelvin Chng

user posted image

Korean hottie Lee Byung Hun has all the fame, fortune and women falling at his feet.

But what does he crave for?

“Normalcy”. Growing up, he yearned for life as a commoner.

Now, he yearns for “The One” wants to be married.

Lee speaks to The New Paper about life growing up and who is ideal woman is. Find out in Monday’s edition (June 13) of The New Paper.

user posted image

user posted image

June 13, 2011

Waiting for the RIGHT WOMAN

Despite wanting to settle down, aunty killer Lee Byung Hun still can’t find a wife
Report: Charlene Chua cchua@sph.com.sg // The New Paper Singapore

Korean star Lee Byung hun may have dated a bevy of babes. But he is yet to find a wife.

The 40-year-old has established himself as a top film and TV actor in Korea and as the most successful Korean export in Hollywood with the blockbuster GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra.

But Lee, who won Actor of the Year at the prestigious Baeksang Arts Awards last month for the crime thriller I Saw the Devil, which opens here in August, told the New Paper: “I have to get married. A long time ago I wanted to lead a normal person’s private life and I really wanted to get married, even then. But then I realized that it all comes down to fate and it has nothing to do with will.”

Lee had dated beautiful Korean actress Song Hye Kyo in 2003 but the couple broke up in 2004.

user posted image

WINSOME SMILE: Lee Byung Hun in a buggy outside the Capella Singapore hotel on Saturday afternoon.

So, what is he looking for in a woman?

Lee, who was in town over the weekend for the closing ceremony of the inaugural ScreenSingapore film festival, said in fluent English: “My dream woman is someone who is funny and whom I can have a lot of funny conversations with over wine. Yes, there have been women like that whom I have met but somehow they were not meant to be. So I’m still waiting.”

Well, there are plenty of women who could give an arm and leg to date Lee.

Lee Said during our interview at the Capella Singapore hotel that he was shocked some time ago when he saw a bus pull up outside his house. About 100 fans got of the bus and entered his home as the gate was unlocked, taking pictures with his dogs and trees in his garden.

According to Lee, his manager “took care of them”.

During one summer in Korea, Lee had woken up “feeling hot” and, wearing only his underwear, he opened his window. He got the shock of his life when he saw fans waving back at him just outside his window. “I was almost naked, so of course I was taken aback,” he said. “My house is the most private place to me, so I do want my fans to keep this place private for me.”

And since starring in GI Joe: The Rise of Cobra as the assassin Storm Shadow, he has more admirers from the US. He will be filming the sequel directed by Jon Chu, the director of Step Up 2: The Streets, Step Up 3D and Justin Bieber: Never Say Never.

Lee said he takes in his his stride whenever fans in Asia tell him he is “very handsome” or “was really good in a drama”. But when he walked the red carpet for the GI Joe premiere outside the famous Grauman’s Chinese Theatre in Hollywood, he was touched by what Korean-Americans shouted at him.

Recalled Lee: “Instead of the usual compliments, they said “We’re so proud of you”. “I was representing (my people). That gave me goose-bumps.”

Still, Lee admits he still hankers for the ordinary life.

Lee, who grew up in a wealthy family, recalled how, a few years ago, he put on a disguise and borrowed his friend’s taxi for a few days to drive around to see what it was like as a cabby.

Cabby Disguise

Said Lee: “When I was young, I thought that if I weren’t famous, I’d be a taxi driver. When I was growing up, I didn’t have a lot of experiences that other people had as I was born and raised so properly.”

Lee said he had borrowed his friend’s taxi though he didn’t have a cab licence, and donned a cap and flu mask for disguise. “I really enjoyed listening to all the chit-chat from my passengers.”

Lee said he couldn’t accept money as that would be “wrong”, so he told his customers that since he wasn’t sure of the directions, he’d waive the fare.

While aunty passengers happily left the cab, male passengers were more suspicious of this masked do-gooder.

Recalled Lee with a laugh: “When I refused to accept their fares, they just threw the money at me and left. What was most memorable was an old man who was telling me about his son who didn’t want to get a job.

He said to me, ‘You’re a nice guy earning an honest living driving a taxi, not like my son’.”

Leave a Reply

